Skip to content

31 days in August

August 1, 2011

Have you seen my word count widget? It’s up to 67% of my target – that’s 67,000 words (well, 67,771 to be precise) towards the first draft of my Steampunk novel.

I’ve written a thousand in a mad writing frenzy tonight and it’s got me thinking. A new month brings a new perspective. There are 31 days in August. I don’t have many plans for the whole month. What if I could write an average of a thousand words a day for the month? That would get me within spitting distance of my first draft goal and that much closer to being able to bring out my second novel.

Nanowrimo sets the goal of 50,000 in 30 days. I’ve completed that challenge twice so I know I can do it if I put my mind to it. Therefore, I’m going to aim to write this 1K a day and finish my first draft. Because once that’s done, I can start to turn all this (very) raw material into the story I so desperately want to tell.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pers permalink
    August 1, 2011 7:50 pm

    Good luck with that. I wouldn’t have a hope in hell of achieving that because work regularly leaves me either too exhausted or in too much pain to concentrate on writing.

  2. August 1, 2011 8:24 pm

    Definitely an achievable target. Good luck! I’m looking forward to some more steampunk fiction to read.

Leave a Reply

