Skip to content

Nanowrimo 2011 approaches…

October 23, 2011

Despite my best intentions, my rough draft of the steampunk WIP is still, alas, unfinished. Real life has been super-busy. Some of you know I run a tutoring business to pay the bills, plus I’m training to be an indexer. These and other commitments have taken a huge toll on my time and creative energy.

I love Nanowrimo. I’ve participated (and won) twice. But this year I won’t be taking part in the normal sense. That’s because I currently have over 80,000 words of my steampunk WIP plus a 50,000 word super-rough first draft of Primortia 2. Starting a third WIP would be crazy.

So, instead, I shall be working away at the steampunk book. I’m getting close to the final scenes of the story, then I have to go back and tidy up the plot and fill in a few minor scenes that still need to be written.

The good news is that I am getting there, and the lessons I’m learning about realistic timescales and my own working processes are invaluable.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 23, 2011 11:47 am

    Wow good job in the past years, that’s an incredible accomplishment. Even though you’re working on something else this year, I wish you the best of luck. My coauthor and I have just finished our first novel after 2 years and have started querying agents so we’re very sympathetic to the writing process.

    -Eliabeth

Leave a Reply

